Reflection on weeks 2 / 3

In the past two weeks I have seen examples of how inquiry based learning can be teacher directed, teacher guided, student directed, or anywhere along that spectrum. The readings and case studies this week have helped to clarify in my mind what IBL really looks like in a lesson.

The case studies were confusing, though, and as I read the discussion posts of my classmates, I realized many of us understand IBL differently. I am curious to know the ‘real’ answers to that assignment, especially for the third example in the case study.

I definitely have a better understanding of IBL than I did in the first week of this course. Initially, I thought that IBL was great for science classes but wasn’t sure how I could use it in German classes. Now I see that inquiry doesn’t necessarily have to be hands-on like in a science lab, but it’s more about the process of having students formulate questions and then explore finding answers to them, and I can certainly do that in my German classes!

I really like these reflection assignments, so that I am documenting my own learning process and I will be able to look back at my thoughts as I work to implement IBL in my classes this coming school year.

Leave a Reply

